Our Mission

Fort Fisher Visitors Center / Photo courtesy of Chuck Lee



The Blue and Gray Education Society is dedicated to the preservation of the heritage of the American Civil War by the study and understanding of its battlefields and other historic sites through the conduct of field study tours and seminars, open discussion of issues relating to the case for preserving sites and artifacts, interpretative projects, and collaborative evaluation and publication of scholarly research and writings.

The following documents are available as pdf downloads: BGES BylawsMost recent Form 990IRS Determination letter.



The Board of Directors[hr]



The Staff[hr]

Len Riedel, Executive Director, Blue and Gray Educational Society

Gloria Swift, Membership Coordinator and Travel Associate on the History Tours

Al Stevens, Website Programmer

Barbara Noe Kennedy, Website Editor

Nicole Miller, Website Designer

Kay Hankins, Website Photo Editor